Pachino (SicilianPachinu) (pronun. “Pah-kee-noh”) is a town and comune in the Province of SyracuseSicily (Italy). The name derives from the Romanword bacchus which is the Greek and Roman god of wine, and the word ino, which means wine in the Latin language; originally the town was namedBachino which eventually was changed to Pachino when, in Sicily, Italian became the official spoken and written language.

Continue reading



The Province of Syracuse (Italian: Provincia di Siracusa; Sicilian: Pruvincia di Sarausa) is a province in the autonomous island region of Sicily in Italy. Its capital is the city of Syracuse.

It has an area of 2,109 km², and a total population of 396,167 (2001). Syracuse has 8% of the Sicilian population and 8.2% of Sicily’s area. It is bordered on the north and north-west by the Province of Catania and on the west by the Province of Ragusa.



Siracusa’s Province Towns:

  • Augusta
  • Avola
  • Floridia
  • Pachino
  • Noto


Infiorata di NotoSiracusa - festa santa Lucia foto di Alaw_2.jpgPantalica - siracusa copyNoto_infiorata