Agrigento Greek temples copy 2 Agrigento (Sicilian: Girgenti), is a city on the southern coast of Sicily, Italy, and capital of the province of Agrigento. It is renowned as the site of the ancient Greek city of Akragas (also known as Acragas (Ἀκράγας) in Greek,Agrigentum in Latin and Kirkent or Jirjent in Arabic), one of the leading cities of Magna Graecia during the golden age of Ancient Greece.


EVENT Sciacca - carnevale bst  copyBANNER Selinunte - 1 Scala dei Turchi dei turchi by Vanvakys   LE TERRE SICANE

Following the curve, that from Capo Lilibeo, leads south on the shores of the Strait of Sicily, there  is the Route of the Lands of  Sicanians or Strade del Vino Terre Sicane, (Sicanians were one of three ancient peoples of Sicily present at the time of Phoenician and Greek colonization).    This is the area of Agrigento, where, with the City of the  Valley of the Greek Temples, together with Selinunte can be considered the one of most extended archeological area in the world: here  the wine and food culture can be seen towing the economy of the area.

Archestratoterre_sicaneSmall Greek temple copy 2 go copy




Very close to, in Gela a great Siceliot-Greek poet, Archestrato of Gela (IV century BC), wrote “Hedypatheia” or “Gastronomy”, the first Poem of Gourmet. As a young poet Archestratus was disciple of the most famous Epicurus, becoming an Expert in the art of pleasure. In his poem Archestratus tells of his long journeys in search of the best food and the finest wines.   It also deals with the bread, fish, the production and storage of wine and food. It focuses mainly on fish, indicating the best quality, the places of origin, the most famous species and the specific fishing seasons. The first gourmet book in the world.

See also history and Legends of Sicily from the kitchen to the cellar”.   

Feudo arancio _3 copykaos_franco_franchi_paolo_taviani_vittorio_taviani_012_jpg_nbmemilazzo spumante in spiaggia


Speaking of high cultural paths, in a hill facing the “abused” Valle dei Templi,  there is “Kaos” (Chaos) the house of Luigi Pirandello, the inventor of the modern theater, awarded in 1934 Nobel Prize for literature for his “bold and brilliant renovation of the drama and the stage“. - Here the DOC areas  of Sicilian Wines Here you’ll find  Santa Margherita di Belice, the summer residence of Il Gattopardo, translated  “The Leopard” written by Tomasi di Lampedusa  published in 1958,  does anybody remember the movie of Luchino Visconti with  Burt Lancaster, Alain De Lon and Claudia Cardinale. read more

MENFIBonetta Dell'Oglio e le cuoche di Menfi _3

Just few miles from Agrigento, Sambuca di Sicilia, Menfi  (nowadays one of the most active  “Slow food” presidium)  and Contessa Entellina. Beautiful beaches in this area such as: Eraclea Minoa, with its woods by the sand,  one and the UNESCO site: the white reef of “Scala dei Turchi”. – See more at: Wine Trails of Sicily III     Continue reading


Enna (SicilianCastrugiuvanniGreek: Ἔννα; LatinHennaand less frequently Haenna) is a city and comune located roughly at the center of Sicily, southern Italy, in the province of Enna, towering above the surrounding countryside. It has earned the nicknames “belvedere” (panoramic viewpoint) and “ombelico” (navel) of Sicily.

Continue reading


Palermo, Sicilian: Palermu, Latin: Panormus, from Greek: Πάνορμος, Panormos, Arabic: بَلَرْم‎, Balarm; Phoenician: זִיז, Ziz) is a city in Insular Italy, the capital of both the autonomous region of Sicily and the Province of Palermo. The city is noted for its history, culture, architectureand gastronomy, playing an important role throughout much of its existence; it is over 2,700 years old. Palermo is located in the northwest of the island of Sicily, right by the Gulf of Palermo in the Tyrrhenian Sea.

Continue reading

Ragusa  (Sicilian: Rausa; Latin: Ragusia) is a city in southern Italy, on the island of Sicily, with around 75,000 inhabitants. It is built on a wide limestone hill between two deep valleys, Cava San Leonardo and Cava Santa Domenica. Together with seven other cities in the Val di Noto, it is listed among the UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

Continue reading



The Province of Syracuse (Italian: Provincia di Siracusa; Sicilian: Pruvincia di Sarausa) is a province in the autonomous island region of Sicily in Italy. Its capital is the city of Syracuse.

It has an area of 2,109 km², and a total population of 396,167 (2001). Syracuse has 8% of the Sicilian population and 8.2% of Sicily’s area. It is bordered on the north and north-west by the Province of Catania and on the west by the Province of Ragusa.



Siracusa’s Province Towns:

  • Augusta
  • Avola
  • Floridia
  • Pachino
  • Noto


Infiorata di NotoSiracusa - festa santa Lucia foto di Alaw_2.jpgPantalica - siracusa copyNoto_infiorata


Trapani’s Province Towns:

  • Gibellina
  • Erice
  • Marsala
  • Mazara Del Vallo
  • San Vito Lo Capo